Seven days with the Lord.

Day one: My  first day with the Lord. I was a mess, so broken, so hurt, so fractured, so ruptured and deeply exhausted.
I needed a friend. I needed to feel loved by a companion who didn’t judge me.
The Lord was my shoulder to cry on. He hugged and kissed me. He vowed eternal love by His name. He said He would never leave nor forsake me.

I knew He meant it. He never lies. So I believed Him and started walking with Him.

Day two: I was learning to walk but still crawling. My knees were still weak. The past still bothered me. I wasn’t very confident in the Lord.
I read my first bible verse, “I love the Lord for He heard my voice, He heard my cry for mercy”.
Upon reading those words, I felt my knees gain strength. I felt a calm in my spirit. I could feel His presence all around me. Covering me like a blanket. He was lavishing me with His love and I soaked it in like a sponge.
That day, I walked. I walked with the Lord. He is my shield and fortress. My strong tower and ever present help.

No one could convince me otherwise, He was with me and I knew it.

Day three: I stumbled upon a stone and fell. But the Lord picked me up with his righteous right hand.
I fell yet again, but once more He raised me up. He looked at me and smiled.
A third, fourth and fifth time I still stumbled and on my knees I fell.
I thought He would rebuke me but He held me up and I stood firm.
I got angry at myself for falling short of His glory over and over again. But He looked at me and restored my soul with His loving gaze.
That evening I heard Him whisper, “It is well”.

I learnt that though I fall, with the Lord by my side. He’ll lift me up.

Day four: I started to notice that my inner circle had changed. The friends I thought would last forever were no more.
Somehow the Lord had separated me from them. I wanted to hold on. But each time I tried, it was like swallowing a bitter pill.
I knew why they left me. My new walk with God was too much for them to comprehend.
But the Lord was already a friend and ever present help. Though it hurt, I knew it was well.
Suddenly I stopped caring what man thought of me. I had Almighty God’s approval and it was enough. Such a great feeling. I felt my spirit leap to joy.

I swallowed that bitter pill with a smile whilst meditating on my verse and looking to my God.

Day five: Where are You Lord? Where are You friend? Where are You lover? Where are You King? Where are You companion? I can’t hear Your voice Daddy.
I searched for the Lord but could not find Him. I looked for my lover but He was no where.
The Lord was silent but I kept my joy. My heart was broken but I had my verse to keep me going.
I could not hear His voice but I had His word to keep me safe. I was tempted to despair but I couldn’t. I felt struck down but not destroyed.
It was strange but I knew He was there even when He seemed silent. I trusted Him with every fibre of my being.
I consciously decided to hold on!! I knelt down and prayed. I prayed to feel His heartbeat. I yearned and longed for my Lord.

He may seem far away. But He is ever present. Hold on!

Day six:  I prayed Lord, but You never answered. I trusted but You didn’t come through.
This hurts Lord. How will I survive this? Give me strength Lord.
I’m having a hard time understanding this, but You gave me Your word. I will trust You, even when it hurts. Even when its hard, even when it all just falls apart. I will run to You, cause I know that You are; lover of my soul and healer of my scars.
It was a rough day filled with disappointments and heartbreaks. I felt so much pain and rejection. But I trusted the Lord. I had surrendered my all to Him and was never going to turn back.
I cried myself to sleep and prayed for a better tomorrow. But the Lord directed His loving song at night.

You steady my heart. I will run to You even when all I see is black and pain.

Day seven:   His mercy was new every morning. His love endures forever. I woke up and I knew it wasn’t an ordinary day.
Thank you Lord!!!! Thank you for not answering all my prayers. This news is better. Thank you for cutting off my bad relationships, this would have never happened if I was still around them.
Thank you for writing an amazing love letter, thank you for the bible.
Today I just want to praise You and worship You. You are truly great in word and deed.
Your name be forever praised. I forgot all about the pains of yesterday. Just one word from my lover healed all my sorrows. When God delays,it is because He loves us. When He denies, it is because He has something better.

The Lord is true to His word. He is good just because He is good.

Bible references: Psalm 42:8, Psalm 116:1-2, 1 Corinthians 4:8-9, Hebrews 13:5-6, Psalm 37:24, Proverbs 24:16, Song of Songs 3.

Which day are you on?
Read more great stuff click this link Love is.

3 thoughts on “Seven days with the Lord.

  1. Pingback: Fixed gaze. | GraceScandalPoetry

Leave a Reply

