But mommy you chose this man!

But mommy you chose him,
It would have been David or Henry but you went for Tim,
He never respected you then and still doesn’t now,
It may be that he truly doesn’t know how,
Even back then he would abuse you,
But strangely you went through.

image

GraceScandal

You shut your ears to all wisdom and advise,
And decided to be led by your senses and eyes,
Deep down the Holy Spirit told you NO!
But that’s when you just let go,
You gave up on the only person who could really love you,
You let a nice face, cheap words, luxury cars blind you.

image

GraceScandal

Probably that was the last time you ever went to church,
You convinced yourself  that he would change,
I bet you saw the warning signs, surely you saw the BIG red light,
He was a drug addict, a cheating boyfriend and really all you did was fight!
But the only thing that mattered was his height and that he was handsome,
You were sure he was your love, you had found mr awesome.

So you married him and the invitation list was so mean,
God was omitted and all opposition wasn’t allowed in!
And now 20 years later all you do is cry,
It breaks your heart everytime he says goodbye,
I hurts me too mother,
After all he is my father.
I see your bruises and all the body swellings,
Its as if daddy is stone cold without any feelings.

image

GraceScandal

I can’t count how many times we’ve had to bail him out of jail,
We’ve tried counseling, therapy but to no avail,
But mommy you chose him,
You said for better or worse to Jim,
But mommy though you chose dad,
I want you to know I’m not mad!
I love him still because now I have Christ in me,
He has healed all the pain dad caused and told me that He loves me!
He is perfect and His love never fails or lies,
I have seen Him change hearts and lives.

image

GraceScandal

Dear mommy its high time you stop trying to fix and change dad,
You’ve spent all your wisdom and all the money you had!
Let the real warrior fight,
He who is clothed in splendor and might!
He reigns undefeated and has never lost a battle,
He breaks chains and to our the enemies He will dismantle.
But mommy you chose this man,
Though I  think its about time you try the Son Of Man!

image

image

GraceScandal

Want more poetry? Click the link below
Gods love letter!

6 thoughts on “But mommy you chose this man!

  1. Pingback: The Day I Was Proud To Be A Coward! | GraceScandalPoetry

Leave a Reply

